Removing a Picture from it’s Background using extract in Photoshop

This is one of those things that I’ve always known was possible but just assumed was too difficult or would take way too long to figure out how to do in Photoshop. Today someone asked me if I knew how to remove a background from a photo and I remembered that Tom Kuhlmann’s recent article mentioned this and had a link to the instructions. Five minutes later I’ve added the very first Photoshop skill to my bag of tricks. How cool is that?

Here’s the before…

image

..and after.

image

Removing a Picture from it’s Background using extract in Photoshop

Published by Mike Taylor

Born with a life-long passion for learning, I have the great fortune to work at the intersection of learning, design, technology & collaboration.

2 thoughts on “Removing a Picture from it’s Background using extract in Photoshop

  1. Cool. Glad the post helped. Once I remove the background, I can put the images in any location. This works when I have to have an image of someone in a factory but don’t have the right person. I put a slight blur on the factory image, drop it into the background and the image is exactly what I need.

    Have a great day. Tom

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.